Changes

The SmartBoard in my classroom is crooked.

I noticed it at the beginning of the school year, but every day since then has been like GO! and I totally forgot.

Now that I’m looking around my room on the last full day I’ll be in it, I realize that it’s still a little un-level. I wonder if that’s why I could never get the projected image to line up correctly?

I’m going to be back here for 4 weeks to teach summer school, but otherwise I’m done as a fulltime teacher. Bronce and I have decided that it’s best for me to be home with Eleanor and I shared that news with my school a few weeks ago. In turn, they offered me a part-time job in the building as the Title 1 Math Coach. It’s a position that’s still being defined since it will look largely different from that role in the past, but it’s exciting.

I’ll miss my students. I’ll miss my classroom. But most of all I’ll miss the team of teachers I worked with this year. From our off-beat humor and flat-out ridicule of each other… shared frustration over students with bad home situations and bad attitudes… the hours of laughter from the collaboration room (seriously, how did we ever get anything done? Oh, wait… we didn’t.)… the insane inside jokes… furious Words With Friends competitions during meetings and assemblies… these people have been my friends and partners in crime for the last 10 months and I’ve loved every minute of it.

Of course next year won’t look like this one anyway… things like schedule changes and room assignments and all the other teacher-related variables will make it look much different. I’ll even be able to eat lunch with the team on Tuesdays and Thursdays (uh, sorry new math teacher… guess I hope you’ll like me…), but that won’t be the same either. In some ways, I guess we all have to deal with that change from year to year since it’s inevitable that it won’t all be the same. And truly, they’ll get along just fine without me.

It’s going to be hard to let go of this experience. Even as I my heart beats fast at the idea of being home with Eleanor 3 days a week to love on her and read to her and be the one comforting her cries, I realize I’ll miss this place and this family, too.

I could stand beside the SmartBoard, put my shoulder into it, and wedge that thing into the proper position… but I won’t. It’s someone else’s nuisance now.

Comments?

